## BANNER BAPTIST CHURCH

Banner Baptist Church registered 1892 as organization date in the Sevier County Baptist Association Minutes, first lettering to the Association in 1895 when the church had 49 members. L. T. Clabaugh was messenger to the 1899 Association annual meeting while Reverend Pinkney Ownby was pastor.

In 1901 the church sent L. T. Clabaugh and Lee Atchley as messengers. Reverend D. B. Ogle pastored Banner in 1905. There were 41 enrolled in Sunday School and in 1906 the church gave \$25 to foreign missions and \$50 to home missions.

Messengers in 1907 were S. M. Maples, E. L. Reagan, and E. S. Henson. Pastor's salary in 1909 was \$15. Nannie Maples was church clerk and S. M. Maples was Sunday School superintendent.

Banner called Reverend E. Hurst as pastor in 1915, Reverend J. N. Clabo in 1918 and by 1921 the church membership had increased to 54. Reverend J. W. Trentham was pastor.

Reverend Eli McCarter pastored Banner in 1922 and 1923 before Reverend Otha Ownby became pastor for the next four years.

In 1930 Reverend Walter Ownby was pastor, followed by the Reverends John Fox, Walter Ogle, A. P. Valentine, and James Franklin. In 1939 during James Franklin's ministry, Buford Huskey was Sunday School superintendent.

Reverend John Fox again accepted the pastorate at Banner in 1942, Reverends William Lonas, Kelly Huskey, Millard F. Reed (for four years from 1948 through 1951), Rellie Trentham, Earl Wilhoite, Walter Ogle, J. L. Carr (for three years from 1955 through 1957), Willie Caldwell, James T. Latham, and Dewey Pierce, following in one to two-year periods through 1962.

Reverend A. C. Wadley became pastor in 1963, serving for eight years, through 1970. Reverend W. W. Cantrell served as pastor from 1971 through 1975. Reverend Wilson Lonas Jr. was pastor from the first of 1976 to August of 1977 and Reverend Don Compton was called as pastor in October 1977. He served until September of 1982. Reverend Ralph Galyon was pastor in 1989.

Information was taken for the Sevier County Baptist Association books of Minutes, supplement supplied by Von W. Ogle, Chairman of Deacons.